Felicia Day and Others I’m Looking Forward to at Comic Con

No, I won’t be there, but I WILL be stalking people’s twitters and blogs who are there, so never fear! Click here for the full schedule of the San Diego Comic Con! Click here to see my previous post about SDCC.

Felicia Day: Guild to Dragon

Added to the list of things I’m looking forward to is the news that Felicia Day will be at Comic Con discussing the Dragon Age web series Redemption.

Description

Thursday 11:00-12:00: The Evolution of Web Series: The Guild to Dragon Age — Writer/actor Felicia Day (The Guild), actor Doug Jones (Hellboy, Pan’s Labyrinth), Dragon Age: Redemption director Peter Winther (Leverage), and Dragon Age executive producer Mark Darrah discuss the secrets to The Guild‘s success and what happens when you take that winning formula to the dark fantasy video game universe, Dragon Age, for the upcoming web series Redemption. Room 7AB

Why I’m excited

I know some fans of Dragon Age were not very happy when DA: Redemption was announced. Some folks hated on Felicia (which is dumb, but whatevs), and some people complained bitterly that it was going to suck.

Now, personally, I was never upset for one major reason: I was never promised a web series. I was never told that I was owed this bonus, and so how could I be mad about how it turns out? It’s like finding a dollar on the road then complaining that it wasn’t a five dollar bill instead.

That being said, do I think the web series will be good? Well…maybe. The Guild is hilarious. I became hooked to the series immediately and shared it with friends. I’m not a WoW player myself, but my sister is (and I play mostly RPGs), so it was easy to relate. Combine one series she has done well with the fact that she has a great team working with her on DA: Redemption, and it is easier to relax. On the other hand, DA is a sprawling universe filled with lore and fueled by our collective imaginations. If any of the lore is messed up, if the characters do not look and act EXACTLY as they would in the game, if it looks low budget: ANY of these things could tip fans into immediate hatred.

So, with all that on the table (plus the apparent competition with Twilight), this should be an interesting panel!

Girl Power: Too Sexy or Not Too Sexy

There seems to be a lot of great panels for women at SDCC, so that makes me REALLY wish I could go! There is a discussion called “Oh You Sexy Geek,” about whether or not geek girls should be sexy, etc. featuring Bonnie Burton, Chris Gore, Katrina Hill, Adrianne Curry, Clare Grant, Kiala Kazebee, Clare Kramer, Jennifer Stuller, and Nerdy Bird. ❤

Description

10:45-11:45 Oh, You Sexy Geek! — Does displaying the sexiness of fangirls benefit or demean them? When geek girls show off, are they liberating themselves or pandering to men? Do some “fake fangirls” blend sex appeal with nerdiness just to appeal to the growing geek/nerd market, or is that question itself unfair? And what’s up with all the Slave Leias? Action flick chick Katrina Hill (ActionFlickChick.com) asks Bonnie Burton (Grrl.com), Adrianne Curry (America’s Next Top Model), Clare Grant (Team Unicorn, “G33k & G4m3r Girls”), Kiala Kazebee (Nerdist.com), Clare Kramer (Buffy the Vampire Slayer), Nerdy Bird – Jill Pantozzi (“Has Boobs, Reads Comics”), Jennifer K. Stuller (Ink-Stained Amazons, GeekGirlCon), and Chris Gore (G4TV’s Attack of the Show!) to discuss whether fans can be sexy and geeky at the same time — and if they should! Room 6A

Why I’m excited

I am not unaffected by people who use their sexiness to either hide their insecurity or give gamer girls a bad name by simply trying to get a “niche sexy”…I myself have been accused of such! Does it make it okay that I would have these sexy pictures up even if I was talking about something else (like my poetry)? Or do I need to take a picture in a turtleneck to preserve the sanctity and respect of girl gamers?

Girl Power 2: Sci-Fi SHEroes

Another discussion I’d love to witness is “Her Universe: What Women Want in Their Female Sci-Fi Heroes”,  featuring such notables as Ashley Eckstein and Gail Simone.

Description

6:00-7:00 Her Universe: What Women Want in Their Female Sci-Fi Heroes — In the early days of sci-fi, female characters were the designated damsels in distress. Thankfully, today a new generation of creative minds are molding the strong, intelligent, and powerful female roles we see in some sci-fi films, TV shows, comics, and other media. What are the differences between past sci-fi adventures with female characters and today’s feminine heroes that women can really connect with? How do you create truly interesting and unique female characters in the sci-fi universe? How are they different from their male counterparts? As the voice of a strong female role model, host Ashley Eckstein (voice of Ahsoka Tano, Star Wars: The Clone Wars) wants to bring this conversation to the forefront. Join Ashley for a dynamic panel of creative minds from television, film, and comics to explore this timely topic, featuring Dave Filoni (supervising director, Star Wars: The Clone Wars), Chris Sanagustin (SVP development and current programming for Universal Cable Productions), Bryan Q. Miller (executive story editor, Smallville; writer, DC’s Batgirl), Betsy Mitchell (editor-in-chief, Del Rey Books), Melinda Hsu Taylor (writer/producer, Lost, Medium; supervising producer, Touch), and Gail Simone (writer, DC’s Birds of Prey, Secret Six, Wonder Woman, and the new Batgirl comic). Room 25ABC

Why I’m excited

I am always complaining about the lack of strong female characters (with a few amazing exceptions, of course) in my favorite genre. I mostly get to make do with elfess archers or icy cold commanders in space who don’t really do much fighting themselves. I would love to hear what this panel has to say!

Here is a list of the other things I’m excited for at Comic Con:

  1. Dragon Age II: Legacy playable demo
  2. Mass Effect 3 playable demo
  3. Street Fighter X Tekken
  4. Batman Arkham City reveals
  5. Battlestar Galactica discussion
  6. Buffy the Vampire Slayer and LGBT Fandom (TOM LENK WILL BE THERE!)

My fellow gamers

If you attend any of these conferences, PLEASE let me interview you!

I’m so sad I couldn’t make it to Comic Con, but I hope any of you who go take really good notes and let me know what happens!

What are you excited for?

Tell us what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.